videos

Go Back   VMaxForum.net > Main Category > VBoost Room

VBoost Room General Bike Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Re: Sequential Shift Light Question
  #11  
Old 03-25-2015, 07:13 PM
ga_max's Avatar
ga_max ga_max is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 539
My VMax: 1994 Yellow
Default Re: Sequential Shift Light Question

Let us know how it works and how you wired it. I've been looking at the i-Shift also.
__________________
Honda ct70 -> Honda CB350 -> BSA 650 Lightning -> Honda V65 Sabre -> 1994 Yamaha VMAX
Reply With Quote
 

Re: Sequential Shift Light Question
  #12  
Old 04-02-2015, 02:09 AM
Lotsokids's Avatar
Lotsokids Lotsokids is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 475
My VMax: Owned 3, shopping for #4
Default Re: Sequential Shift Light Question

My new D.R.E. shift light arrived yesterday. It's a simple 3-wire install:
Red: +
Black: -
Green: Coil -

The question is, do I connect the green wire to the yellow, orange, white, or gray coil wire... OR gray wire on the tachometer?
I just want to verify before I mess something up.

Reply With Quote
 

Re: Sequential Shift Light Question
  #13  
Old 04-02-2015, 06:34 AM
redneksoldier's Avatar
redneksoldier redneksoldier is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 402
My VMax: '93 Black '94 Yeller
My other bikes: '05 Raptor 660R, '01Warrior
Default Re: Sequential Shift Light Question

I use a Shift-i unit with similar wiring. I connected mine to the grey tach signal wire. Works great!
Reply With Quote
 

Re: Sequential Shift Light Question
  #14  
Old 04-06-2015, 01:44 PM
Lotsokids's Avatar
Lotsokids Lotsokids is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 475
My VMax: Owned 3, shopping for #4
Default Re: Sequential Shift Light Question

Alright... installed. I'm sick and it's still cold, so a test run will come later. All setup functions work perfectly.

Step 1 was to make a spacer that fits the flat light to the speedometer. I had a piece of hard rubber that I trimmed by hand. Then attached with strong two-faced tape:










Then the wiring. I used a connector and just added it to the gray wire on the back of the tach. It's a good time to clean the contact surface. Mine was a little corroded.
The only other two wires were positive and ground.




Reply With Quote
 

Re: Sequential Shift Light Question
  #15  
Old 04-06-2015, 02:29 PM
redneksoldier's Avatar
redneksoldier redneksoldier is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 402
My VMax: '93 Black '94 Yeller
My other bikes: '05 Raptor 660R, '01Warrior
Default Re: Sequential Shift Light Question

Nice work. Looking good!
Reply With Quote
 

Re: Sequential Shift Light Question
  #16  
Old 04-09-2015, 02:38 AM
Lotsokids's Avatar
Lotsokids Lotsokids is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 475
My VMax: Owned 3, shopping for #4
Default Re: Sequential Shift Light Question

Something is wrong with the tach signal. I have no shift lights. All other functions work fine and the setup is right. Still displays 6,000 low and 9,300 high. There is a way to view digital RPM on top in real time, but it's just "0000" while running. Not sure, but looks like I tapped into the wrong tach wire. Anyone have any ideas?
Maybe I should go to the coil?
Reply With Quote
 

Re: Sequential Shift Light Question
  #17  
Old 04-09-2015, 09:00 AM
Redbone's Avatar
Redbone Redbone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brimley in Michigan's U.P.
Posts: 9,207
My VMax: 1992 - "Redbone"
My other bikes: 2003 FZ-1 - "Lightning"
Awards Showcase
Mod Monkey Award of Posting Excellence (APE) Nice guy award 
Total Awards: 3
Default Re: Sequential Shift Light Question

Try using the 2 cylinder setting, that is how my Harlan is set.
__________________
Brian
VMOA #4942


I'll participate in anything with redheads!

Reply With Quote
 

Re: Sequential Shift Light Question
  #18  
Old 04-09-2015, 10:56 AM
Lotsokids's Avatar
Lotsokids Lotsokids is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 475
My VMax: Owned 3, shopping for #4
Default Re: Sequential Shift Light Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redbone View Post
Try using the 2 cylinder setting, that is how my Harlan is set.
That's strange. I set it on 2 cylinders and now it shows digital RPM. I just tested the bike and all the lights work now.

Thank you, Redbone!
Reply With Quote
 

Re: Sequential Shift Light Question
  #19  
Old 04-09-2015, 03:24 PM
Redbone's Avatar
Redbone Redbone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brimley in Michigan's U.P.
Posts: 9,207
My VMax: 1992 - "Redbone"
My other bikes: 2003 FZ-1 - "Lightning"
Awards Showcase
Mod Monkey Award of Posting Excellence (APE) Nice guy award 
Total Awards: 3
Default Re: Sequential Shift Light Question

Glad to help, it has something to do with that the Vmax has a wasted spark firing order or some other technical reason that's above my pay grade!
__________________
Brian
VMOA #4942


I'll participate in anything with redheads!

Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
light, question, sequential, shift

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

MorleyMuscle.com cycle-istic.com Exactrep
top of page