slave cylinder clutch change

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Born2Ride

Reaction score
Hello, around almost an year ago when I bought my Vmax, when I got home with the motorcycle I noticed a small beautiful oil leak dripping from the pan, as you can see in the picture. I noticed that it leaked only after use for like 2 hours. I noticed also that the clutch master cylinder fluid was going a bit lower compared with the brake cylinder, and then I found out that the leakage came after pulling the clutch. Week after I left the bike for a checkup at a shop and the guy told me that it was the clutch slave cylinder that was leaking, (probably the rubbers inside, he said). I asked him what is the part number of the part to replace and he said 1FK-16381-11-00. The repair cost is now to expansive for me so I really want to try to do this myself, but since I’m not a mechanic or experienced in this matter I would like if possible to have your help or advice with this and perhaps parts if shipping costs are reasonable. To start I got a manual online that I downloaded so I don t know how much I can trust it.
First it says that I should drain the engine oil, I asked it to the mechanic from the shop and he told me that there is no need, I kind of got the feeling that Vmax is not his strong point, could you guys tell me what is correct to replace the slave cylinder?
Than it says to bleed the clutch, ok, but the way it shows on the manual, they bleed by replacing for new fluid at the same time, so I kinda don t know if the line has to be empty or put new fluid? Because I think when I remove the slave cylinder clutch union bolt, fluid will drop, but if master at the top is closed maybe will not drop that much because no air will go in from top, what s the best procedure?