Idle Adjustment

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kalbo

Reaction score
Ok, I am new to the Vmax scene. I have recently bought my first and loving it. I have noticed that the bike seems to idle a little slow. So slow, it will sometimes stall, when stationary in traffic if you don't keep the rev's up. I have tried increasing the idle speed using the adjuster and it works, but after a very short time it goes back to slow again? Any ideas why?

Whats the idle set at when your just sitting in neutral. Does it hold steady just sitting . The Idle should be set around 1000 RPM

Also what happens when you blip the throttle in neutral? Does it drop back to the same speed, drop below and return, or drop really slowly after hanging a bit?

I have run the bike and when its warm, I set the idle to 1000rpm. If I blip the throttle a few times it seems to drop back down to slow idle...It's as though it's not holding at 1000. ?

A couple of times at slow speed, whilst maneuvering in 1st gear, it's cut out completely. I almost fell off it yesterday as the rear wheel locked up when it stalled. I have to keep the revs up with the throttle to stop it stalling.

If I set the idle to 1000rpm it will stay at 1000 until I open and close the throttle, which seems to drop it back down again.

It probably does smell a little rich. i'll take it to a mechanic and see if he can make it a little leaner. Maybe that will help, Thanks.

Surely 'does it smell a bit rich' would be subjective and, if I may be so bold as to suggest, perhaps not the best way to diagnose an issue?

Before doing anything else has the bike been given a full service? Assume nothing and change all filters and spark plugs, balance the carbs plus everything else on the list here.