V boost control question

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

42Below

Reaction score
Gidday.

I got my bike a few months ago. I havent had a chance to ride it much as the forks puked oil on the way home and and since repaired Ive been busy.

I was told by the seller it had the vboost set to come in at 3000rpm. This feels right as it picks up a fair bit at 3k.
I looked here on vboost threads but didnt find what i wanted,

At 6k it just pulls with no extra power like normal ones do.

To be honest I expected more from the hype but I have owned a ZZR1100 previously so I guess I expect my helmet to squash my nose.
Its quick, just not life changing quick. Maybe it needs something.
It has KnN, stock headers with Over cans and Im told a stage 1 kit.

I checked the vboost module and its stock, I checked images here and the net.
Im an ex car mechanic so happy to do my own work as Im able. Me and sparks never got along, I dont trust that which I cant see!

How else do you regulate the vboost? I thought a controller in place of the stock module was the way - or an Ignitek module as I have read here.

The system cycles when the ignition is switched on like they are meant to. Can you free rev it and watch the servo operate to verify whats going on or does it need to be in gear?

Ta.

You can buy a device that makes the V-Boost always on. It's been almost 7 years since I owned a gen 1 so I forget the name of them. if that is what you might want I am sure someone will reply with the options.

No need to waste $ on 'a device that makes the V Boost always on.'

Locate the round electrical plug under the left air horn/scoop. This is the V Boost motor. Turn on the ignition. When the V Boost cycles, unplug the round plug. Now your V Boost will always be open.