Carb leaking

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vmax1998

Reaction score
Hi on the left side of my 98 vmax it seems like the carb is leaking. I recently synced the carbs to the best of my ability and went around to all the carbs and made sure the af mix screws were all 2.5 turns out. My back left carb on the left side is wet around the outside and it smells like fuel. I was wondering what might be causing this. Maybe I could get a picture later. The bike has supertrapps with 7 discs and a drop in k and n filter. Other than that it is stock. Also seems to run really well in the midrange but coming right off of idle it seems to not have the same instant response. It’s a little laggy. And on the top end it seems to have lost some power.... I’m not a carb expert I’m more knowledgeable about fuel injection so maybe someone might know where I can start with tuning?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

How much fuel are you talking about?

Could be a stuck float. Thats usually a lot of fuel coming out the airbox hose.

Could be leaking past the float bowl drain screw. Id drain all the float bowls individually into a glass container and mark the container with the fuel level in each as a comparison. Its good to know if one us way out of whack.

While you drain them, you can polish the tips of the screws that seal the flat chamber. Polish the seats too. Check the o-rings.

Check to see if diaphragm screws are tight.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

How much fuel are you talking about?

Could be a stuck float. Thats usually a lot of fuel coming out the airbox hose.

Could be leaking past the float bowl drain screw. Id drain all the float bowls individually into a glass container and mark the container with the fuel level in each as a comparison. Its good to know if one us way out of whack.