Interest in Gen 1 - need advice on what to look for or ask

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

propwash

Reaction score
Hi - First time on this forum, and if things work in my favor, will be the first of many!

After having first set sights on the Max more than 20 years ago, I was in love with the Max (is that gay?) - and now I'm finally in a position to buy one.

I live in S Florida (Ft Lauderdale) and Craigslist / Cycletrader don't yield too many options. I'm considering anything between a 1999-2007, and hopefully low miles.

• I am NOT a mechanic or mechanically inclined. So unless there's something obviously wrong with the bike (such as a missing headlight) any mechanical faults with go right by me.
  • Is there something I should look out for which I can easily spot (without having to disassemble the whole bike) ?
  • i found a site (well there's a few) that run VIN checks - are these reliable?
    http://www.cyclevin.com/motorcycle-vin-report/

Thanks in advance, and sorry if I loaded too many questions for a 1st post (I'm there's a ton more stupid questions I can come up with)

You need to be aware of a 2nd gear issue. The only way that you will find it out, is basically at full throttle in 2nd gear. If they bike pops out of gear, or into neutral, stay away from it. It means that 2nd gear is worn, and the cost to repair is 1500 ish, and thats if your doing a majority of the work.

That being said, anything wrong with a Vmax, this site can help you fix.

The Vmax is a great motorcycle.

There were more issues when the Vmax first came out.....but ANY year Vmax can have a 2nd gear issue. Ive been told that not clutching your shifts can contribute.

Appreciate the advice.