videos

Go Back   VMaxForum.net > Main Category > VBoost Room

VBoost Room General Bike Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Re: My Vmax performing like a 500cc
  #351  
Old 10-11-2017, 08:56 AM
sdt354's Avatar
sdt354 sdt354 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Southern N.E.
Posts: 5,143
My VMax: 1989 Black Cherry
My other bikes: 1976 KZ900, 1985 VMAX
Awards Showcase
Nice guy award 
Total Awards: 1
Default Re: My Vmax performing like a 500cc

Sometimes it's worth paying a machine shop to get that out. If you go off center, it becomes a project to fix and a new cover becomes cheaper than a fix. Those buggers break easy. Heat is your friend getting them out, as well as a hand impact tool.
__________________


I participate in the
VMF Roadside Assistance Program
P - Trailer-pick up with in 50 miles
T - Tools
F - Food/ beverages

Reply With Quote
 

Re: My Vmax performing like a 500cc
  #352  
Old 10-11-2017, 10:07 AM
radley radley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 431
My VMax: 1985 Dark Amethyst
My other bikes: KLEIN 21-speed
Default Re: My Vmax performing like a 500cc

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdt354 View Post
Sometimes it's worth paying a machine shop to get that out. If you go off center, it becomes a project to fix and a new cover becomes cheaper than a fix. Those buggers break easy. Heat is your friend getting them out, as well as a hand impact tool.
yeah, lesson learned, note taken. That engine casing is aluminum, right? so soft metal.... looks like I need to purchase a Tap and Die set and do it like that... honestly that bracket I think would hold without the screw in that location, but whatever... good opportunity to maybe try the Tap and Die thing... invest for future implementations. assuming i'd have to drill out a nice hole though first then try to tap and die without thinning it out too much... and just maybe use one screw that is unique compared to the others... sounds alright maybe..?
Reply With Quote
 

Re: My Vmax performing like a 500cc
  #353  
Old 10-11-2017, 12:12 PM
AJBinVA AJBinVA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 99
My VMax: '96 Black, '88 Red, '94
My other bikes: 1989 & 1983 Venture Royales
Default Re: My Vmax performing like a 500cc

You'll want to cut it down some, after taking some measurements for the lug height, and fill weld it first. Any decent machine shop should be able to do it for not much more than a decent tap and die. $40-$50. Try thumbtack if it's popular in your area they may have a freelance welder/fabricator available willing to do it on the cheap. Would be your best bet. Seems a bit out of round for any "easy" fixes.
Reply With Quote
 

Re: My Vmax performing like a 500cc
  #354  
Old 10-11-2017, 01:41 PM
mabdcmb@yahoo.com's Avatar
mabdcmb@yahoo.com mabdcmb@yahoo.com is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 5,765
My VMax: 2006
My other bikes: Sportsman 570, Grizzly 450
Awards Showcase
Mod Monkey Nice guy award 
Total Awards: 2
Default Re: My Vmax performing like a 500cc

Not sure on the specifics of your thread repair. If you can tap it to the next size up and everything fits, that would be suitable.

If not, weld and re-drill and tap. Or, buy a used cover from ebay. I've seen them listed sub $40.

That rubber gasket from under the "circle" as you call it is reusable. If yours is not cracked or distorted, it can be reused. Nothing wrong at all with replacing it if you want.

Note that the "circle" should have had an o-ring on it where it went through the stator cover. Make sure that is in good condition. I'd be more concerned about that, than the rubber gasket.
__________________
Mike
Reply With Quote
 

Re: My Vmax performing like a 500cc
  #355  
Old 10-12-2017, 12:17 PM
radley radley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 431
My VMax: 1985 Dark Amethyst
My other bikes: KLEIN 21-speed
Default Re: My Vmax performing like a 500cc

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabdcmb@yahoo.com View Post
Not sure on the specifics of your thread repair. If you can tap it to the next size up and everything fits, that would be suitable.

If not, weld and re-drill and tap. Or, buy a used cover from ebay. I've seen them listed sub $40.

That rubber gasket from under the "circle" as you call it is reusable. If yours is not cracked or distorted, it can be reused. Nothing wrong at all with replacing it if you want.

Note that the "circle" should have had an o-ring on it where it went through the stator cover. Make sure that is in good condition. I'd be more concerned about that, than the rubber gasket.
thanks fellas.

i'll report back later. oring and gasket good then, i'll re use them. plan on doing my own tap die on a borrowed set. just needs to be good to hold that bracket on with a new stainless screw. nice and tight. forever....wishful thinking? hehe

now when it comes to the rubber plug things thtt wires go through.. well... when I get there i'll report back. til then have a good weekend. i'll be in a tree chillin with George McFly.
Reply With Quote
 

Re: My Vmax performing like a 500cc
  #356  
Old 10-13-2017, 09:09 PM
redbaron13's Avatar
redbaron13 redbaron13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: atlanta
Posts: 91
My VMax: 86burgundy
Default Re: My Vmax performing like a 500cc

Clean it with acetone, fill it with jb weld, drill and tap; that stuff has been holding a sight ramp on my .45 for 20 years. And... that thing does some bucking and gets a lot of oil on it.
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
500cc, performing, vmax

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

MorleyMuscle.com Exactrep
top of page