Getting 1985 started

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I bought a 1999 which runs great. The seller threw in a 1985 as an extra parts bike which is a great looking machine. I installed a battery and the engine turns over but is very slow and acts as if the battery is about dead (which it is not). What is the possible problem or is the motor shot and not worth messing with. I have some mechanical knowledge but tearing apart motors is not my thing. Just looking for thoughts as to how much effort I put into this bike.

Two ways to check the compression: a leak-down test and a compression test. The compression test would tell you about the compression, the sealing of the valves and the piston rings. The leak-down test can express as a % what sealing the engine has.

A cheap cellphone borescope can enter the sparkplug holes where you can see the piston head and the cyl walls. If you find one cyl is leaky, air sounds from the intake side say, 'valves' while air sounds from the exhaust say, 'rings.'

Then you can see about the teardown.

Last edited:
First question, how do you know the battery is good and not failing under load?
Start with the basics first - stupid would be a grossly inadequate description if, having dismantled the engine, you find an issue with the battery.
Make sure the battery performs well on the '99 then, as Mr Radioguylogs suggests, start with cleaning all the power leads between the battery and starter and add the earth points in for good measure. Checking the starter brushes and commutator would also be prudent.
If it isn't electrical or starter related then it could be that the motor is tight. Remove the plugs and put it in gear and see how easy it is to turn over via the rear wheel. Provided you can ground all of the plugs (easier said than done) you could also do this with the starter.