Airbox help please.

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Noxx72

Reaction score
As I mentioned, my Max runs a little boggy in the low/mid. Today I decided to try the "peashooter" method described here to see if cleaning things out offered any improvement.

I don't know if it did or not because I can't get the damn airbox back on right.

Now bear with me, I'm a controls electrician, not a mechanic. So while mechanically inclined, per se, I am not immune from occasionally missing the obvious and having to ask a stupid question.

Air box goes back on easy enough, carb boots are in good shape, but how in the HELL am I supposed to get a paw in there to re-attach the vent hose at the rear of the box? From where I'm sitting it seems like it would entail taking half the damn bike apart.

Hralp?

It's been a while since I had my box off, but I think I took the hose loose at the other end, hooked it to my box, then reconnected to the cranckcase

Thanks Tex, was just thinking that. Now I'm roaming around trying to find my needle nose to do it. Everythings a bit of a wreck here atm.

Thanks Tex, was just thinking that. Now I'm roaming around trying to find my needle nose to do it. Everythings a bit of a wreck here atm.

Remove the coolant tank (which just pulls off of it's bracket) and you should be able to squeeze your hand in there to put the hose on pretty easily.

I've done that about 60 times in the last few weeks...:biglaugh:

Remove the coolant tank (which just pulls off of it's bracket) and you should be able to squeeze your hand in there to put the hose on pretty easily.

I've done that about 60 times in the last few weeks...:biglaugh:

Dammit, there it is. Thanks for the input guys. I went with the first thought and pulled the other end, I've got it all back together and rerouted now, if I can ever find my $#%^ pliers I'll snap that last hose on and try it out.