New to me 85 V max Questions

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yellowandfast

Reaction score
Bike has 45,000 miles on it
runs strong, NO noises whatsoever from engine

is there any way to tell if the update for 2nd gear has been done?

is there a certain vin number that would be the cut off for the revision, or did all 85 maxes have the issue?

and if not how hard is it to do so?

and what are the differences in the "n" vs the "nc"

any other things I should look at before I start the riding season?

I m crossing over from the Yamaha 2stroke world, I have a small collection of 70's bikes and have done several engines over the years.

any help would be great

Thanks
Jeremy

Last edited:
I'm no expert on the model numbers, but I THINK nc = California model. As far as What VIN # have the 2nd gear fix, no clue, but someone on here might.
What part of WI are you from?

Oh yeah, and Welcome to the Forum!

Last edited:
Hello and welcome

If it has survived 45K then the gear has either been done or it ain't a problem.
Either way only start worrying if it becomes a problem.

To change it's an engine out, cases split to change but not a difficult job.

C as explained above is a Californian model which has some additional anti pollution kit attached. PAJ1 is a 100 v. 90 on the non C carbs.

Suggest that you start to ride and enjoy the bike....I'm sure that once you have a few miles under your tyres further questions will follow.

Thanks for the replies.

I live in manitowoc, righjust south of green bay

anything else I should check or watch out for?

Thanks
Jeremy