newbie here, just bought today..need some help!

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

youngzrxer

Reaction score
Hello all, happy to be part of the forum....I just picked up a 90' today and I have a few general questions regarding the jetting and the exhaust..

First off, the guy I bought it from insisted this had a hindle full system...To me it looks a heck of a lot like a slip on, but I guess I could be wrong.....:ummm:

DSC00864.jpg

DSC00863.jpg

The other issue it is seems to be jetted waaayyyyyyyy too rich..It has this exhaust, K&N pods, and supposedly a "stage 7" dynojet kit....I am half temped to just start over and buy a new kit, rather than dick around trying to figure out what it is and what it needs to get squared away...Opinions?

Another thing..WTF is with the braided hose that runs from the oil filler up to the carbs? Is that necassary as a breather? Sorry if I sound ignorant here, I kinda bought on impulse and would like to get this straightened out..Love the bike so far!
________
buy grinders

Last edited:
That looks like Hindle headers to me but hard since the pics are so dark.

If filter pods and oil filler breather then that's definitely a stage 7 kit. Either way I would dig into the carbs and see exactly what you have for jetting. Not sure if the breather is necessary with stage 7. It definitely doesn't hurt anything and probably helps with ring seal.

Other things you might check are length of slide springs, which clip needles are on and if your vboost is stock, unplugged to open position or totally removed.

the front pipes are not stock so it is a full aftermarket exhaust. Why do you feel it is running rich? How does the bike run? Nice looking bike.