Another 4k rpm problem...

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jacksbugs

Reaction score
Hi everybody,

I went for a ride this morning and then stopped the bike for about 15 min. Everything was fine. When I wanted to drive back home, I could not accelerate past 4k rpm. The bike was accelerating just fine below that rpm but then at 4k she felt like she was struggling, unable to go past 4k at all. The rpm would then drop down to 1-1.5k and oscillates back up a little bit with a lot of misfiring noise coming from the exhaust. The only way to get a normal ride back was to ease on the throttle and have the rpm back below 4k. Like I said, up to 4k, she was accelerating just fine.
I checked the slides and they are moving freely. I'm no expert but it doesn't feel like a single carb issue as she won't go at all in the higher rpms and it's each time right on 3.9-4k rpm when it's happening. I tried home just after starting her and she reacts the same...
Any idea where would that come from ?

For the record (all maintenance made in May):
- my bike is a 97 stock except for COPs mod.
- I did a complete carb cleaning with ultrasonic bath and changed all the parts(rubber/diaphragm) that had to be changed in the carbs.
- did a dry floats setting
- did a sync
- put 2 1/2 turns on the mixture screws
- did a valve clearance check.
- checked the intake rubber boots and changed the vboost ones.
- changed 1 intake manifold that was cracked.
- changed the fuel filter.

I had already drove almost 250 miles after these maintenance operations done before she started acting this way.
I kinda don't know where to start to troubleshoot that problem.
Thanks for your help.

Were you trying to get past 4K at part throttle or full throttle, or do you remember where you were at the throttle? Different parts of the throttle control different circuits in the carbs.

Attachments

• carbcircuits.jpg