BAM! There goes my second gear..

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

naughtyG

Reaction score
...so after waiting the best part of 10 months to get my bike shipped, imported and complied here, I've only ridden about 1600 kms (1000 miles) and I can positively say that my second gear is gone. :bang head:

I noticed it as soon as I started riding it back in October - it would 'jump' while in second whenever I accelerated hard, and it would happen quicker when two-up. Now, any attempt to accelerate at all in 2nd results in an instant neutral.. So I'm riding long 1st, quick thru 2nd and straight to 3rd, then carry on. What a PITA!

Anyway, I've got this '86 coming soon, so I guess I'll be riding it for a while instead of selling it, since the motor is going to need to come out of the '00 and cases will be split. Now I need to work out the best way to do this repair - I've never been into a gearbox and am not looking forward to it. I'm thinking I might pull the tranny assembly and ship to Sean if that's feasible, and have him undercut and replace as needed. I really, really didn't need this shit.

Grrrr :damn angry:

Sorry Man :bang head: When you get the 86, just do an engine swap. then you can keep riding the 00, without all the paperwork hassle. You have to pull the 00 no matter what anyway.

Sorry Man :bang head: When you get the 86, just do an engine swap. then you can keep riding the 00, without all the paperwork hassle. You have to pull the 00 no matter what anyway.

Not that easy........................remember the electrics are different, he'd have to swap the wiring harness too.

You can put the 86 in the 00 or vice versa by swapping the flywheel and pickup coils. Not too bad a job.

:bang head::sad2:That Totally Sucks G.... We're having a Tech Day in 2 weeks....:confused2: