Much needed help from you carb experts

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eman3849

Reaction score
I have been having some serious running issues with my 05 lately. I have COP's, stage 1 kit, and K&N filter with the tunnel removed from the top of the airbox. No other engine mods. My bike had been sitting dormant for a couple of months during the heat wave called Phoenix and when I started it a couple of weeks ago it wouldn't even idle off the choke and when I would give it gas it would bog and die. So I performed the good old shotgun routine (I am a pro at this by now) and it ran good afterwards. A week later I went to ride the bike and once again it ran like crap. This time I completely disassembled the carbs to include the jet blocks and cleaned it all out thoroughly. Once I put it back together and tuned it, it ran fine. This moning I decided to ride to work and once again it ran like crap. It would sputter, pop, and basically run like it was extremely lean. If I put the choke partially on while riding down the highway, there would be an instant response and it would run much better, however, the rpm's would stay around 4k. This sucks having to keep messing with this bike. I am at wits end. Could it be anything other than fuel? The fuel system is clean and I have fresh gas with Seafoam added as well. Any wisdom you can share would be much appreciated.

Well, far from an expert but if it runs better after cleaning then they're still getting dirty. Drain the bowls in a glass jar, maybe some smutz coming from the tank. What's the condition of the fuel lines & filter?