New Owner... Carb Issues I Think....

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MONTREALMAX

Reaction score
Hello to everyone, I am new to this forum and new to the VMAX. I am 38 years old and live just outside of Montreal Quebec Canada. I have been riding in Montreal for over 25 years on various makes and models. I currently own a recently purchased 1996 VMAX with 11,000 miles that is in showroom condition completely stock except K&N air filter. I have lusted after this bike since I was a kid, does anyone remember the Yamaha poster from 1984 of the guy doing a burnout on the Max? Had that on my wall for years would love to find one for the garage!! I also own a 1983 Honda CB1000 Custom (US Model) all original, 37,000 miles. The VMAX was purchased from an older gentlemen (typical story) who did not ride very much and this bike was not ridden last season and was not properly prepared for storage. I have done everything I can think of to these carbs, complete tear apart and cleaning and sync, fuel filter, Seafoam etc you name it I have done it. The carbs were not too bad looking once I had them open but maybe I missed something....

I am still having problems with low speed hesitation and backfiring through the carbs. The bike will also hesitate or mifire? occasionally out on the highway at a steady throttle position at approx 4000-5000 rpm. The bike is very difficult to start when cold and requires extensive warm up and choke to drive away without stalling. Roll on acceleration at low RPM's is comical it hesitates so badly. My CB1000C would blow this thing away in the 1/4 mile !!! I know I have probably overlooked a simple fix here but I am at a loss for what to do next. Is there an inherent problem with hesitation on this model year? I have read that on the 1996 model perhaps this could be an issue?