Newbie to VMax world

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vman23

Reaction score
Hi. I am Alex from CT USA. My brother has past back in February. So I put up his 1998 Vmx 1200. It hast run like in 2yrs(long story). So I am anxious to get into it. Need to get new battery, oil, gas. Let’s see how things go. I have been riding for abt 8 yrs. But I do have to admit. I am a little nervous abt the machine. My brother always said the thing is a beast.

Attachments

• IMG_0734.jpeg
    IMG_0734.jpeg
    2.5 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0733.jpeg
    IMG_0733.jpeg
    3.3 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0732.jpeg
    IMG_0732.jpeg
    3.5 MB · Views: 0
Just don't grab a handful of throttle, learn about the powerband a bit at a time. As Kyle said, before 6,000 rpm you are not likely to get into trouble. What bikes have you had? What have you ridden the most miles? How many miles? Answering these will help us to know where you are in your riding skills.

Just so you know, these bikes can wheelie in multiple gears with an experienced rider, and top speed for a USA market bike is supposed to be around 149 mph. A mid 11-second 1/4 mile should be achievable by someone with the ability to ride a bike with 110 rear-wheel horsepower safely. A good rider with experience in launching that bike should be able to make a high 10 second strip pass, and a trap speed of in the 120+ mph range.

However, that's not what you should be trying to do at this point, obviously.

Take a look on the tire sidewalls, and in a oval, you should see some numbers which might look like this: 4819. The first two numbers refer to the week of the year, so 01 would be the first week of January, and 48 would be the last week of November. The next two numbers are the last two digits of the year so xx19 is 2019.