no go after 5k rpm????

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

65fury

Reaction score
Okay so i removed and cleaned the carbs... put them back on.. sorta synced them... (they are close but not perfect) i need to find a good sync tool the one i borrowed was a bit goofy, so anyways bike runs fine up to 5k... then falls on its face and doesnt really recover... more of a stumble up to 8k. So what needs done? Im very new to tuning carbs on bikes...... im used to playing with big motors and diesels... bikes are new. Any ideas??

as far as mods... exhaust hacked up:confused2:(im a noob)
stock air filter and stock jetting as far as i know, i did try the washer behind the needle mod to get more mid range fueling.... but im not sure if it helped or hurt me:bang head:

Jason

Assuming your putting all the arbox back together and on, before you test, It sounds just like you have an air leak somewhere.

yup the air box is altogether, minus the little "Y" piece on top.... could that be it? I forgot to choke it at WOT when it was falling on its face to see if it was running lean... ill try that tomorrow on my way to work... also where does one go for pilot jet and main jets? Ill need to do some rejetting when i get the kerker exhaust but i dont know where to buy any of the parts? thanks

Jason

I'd spray some WD40 while the bike is running to check for some leaks. Some bikes run like ass without the "Y" mine included. Others run pretty well. Mine does well with a 1/8" shim for the "Y".

As for jetting with a Kerker without a DJ-7 or a Morley's, That depends on your elevation. I'm at 440 ft above SL. I'm a nut hair rich with 150's and could probably go down to 147.5's. I'd drop down to a 150 main to start, shim the needles, adjust the a/f screws and sync and you'll be golden.