Should I change my main Jet?

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cyrotronix

Reaction score
I have a 2001 Vmax, that I am still learning about as I go. I bought it last year and have been exploring the things that have been done to it. Recently, I took the carbs apart for cleaning, and curiosity had me inspect what jets were in it. I found that my Main Jet is a 134, and the PAJ2 is a 190 on all four carbs, while everything else matches stock sizes. The bike has stock headers (I believe) with 4-2-2 Kerker slip-ons. The duct has been eliminated from the airbox, and it has a K&N air filter. For the most part the bike seems to run well, at least in my opinion. When I warm it up with the choke on I do get a pop from the right side exhaust until I take the choke off. And my spark plugs show signs of running lean. So this leaves me wondering if I should adjust the jets, and if so, how far? Any input here is appreciated.

Edit: Also, the pilot screws are set around 3.5-4 turns out. Which to my understanding indicates the jets need to go bigger.

Attachments

• IMG_20230614_200042036~2.jpg
    IMG_20230614_200042036~2.jpg
    42.3 KB · Views: 3
  • IMG_20230415_124559909.jpg
    IMG_20230415_124559909.jpg
    81.8 KB · Views: 4
Last edited:
Boy that main jet sizing is beyond me! I am not familiar with any Mikuni sizing for a VMax like that.

VMax carburetor USA and CALIF..png

If you like messing about and dismantling and re-assembling your bike then go ahead, but...
You may notice a difference which would beg the question should I go one higher...or it may feel the same ...or it may feel worse.
Either way you will be tempted to tear things down again. As I have said, if that is your 'thing' then fair enough.

IMO a far better route would put the bike on a dyno and get factual data to base any changes on.
That would: