vmax powered sand drag Banshee.

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1200ccBanshee

Reaction score
Hey guys, Noob here.

Geez where do I start. I am a custom fabricator and builder of Jeep's and Banshee's for my Hobbies, and I am a Millwright by trade for Weyerhaeuser Lumber.

So here is the skinny. I have always wanted to build a custom sand drag bike with a street bike motor in it. Well I just so happened across a almost rolling banshee chassis on one day and the next a vmax motor. The motor is in need of re building. It came out of a friends bike. It started to make a noise that I think is a rod bearing. He shut it down imediatly. Later to find out the bike had been wrecked so he bought a newer vmax, and I got the motor and everything needed to convert to my creation.

That being said, I can find all kinds of info of people using R1, or hyabusa motors but I'm gonna dare to be different. So it wont be easy.

First things first. I'm gonna need to do a sprocket conversion. I will be tearing this motor down soon to split the cases and get down to the trans. I will be taking pics and posting as I go. I hope this build is ok here on your guys forum.

I have little knowlege of the vmax motor. There is a few things I do know. They were the fastest production bike on the maket for a very long time. They have tons of power and torque, and they sound awesome! Nothing else quite like it. So I hope you guys can help point me in the right direction from time to time, or just give a little feed back on this idea/build.

Thanks

This is what I'm starting with.

2382cc19.jpg

7e6b431e.jpg

Here is my current bike. 421cc 4mill stroker.

27b8cc93.jpg

32f7e2b8.jpg

Greetings.

You'll for sure have fun with your new project. BUT, I think I should post up some general knowledge for you that might be helpful.