all 4 coils cracked

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pissed off Veteran

Reaction score
Hello, Been awhile since I posted. I can usaully find everything I need thru the search. Finally got my baby back together 88 vmax and running. Was fixing it up to sell but I am defiantly in love will this lady and she can be mean. All 4 of my coils are cracked and they are expensive for all 4. I'm looking at COP's. Is this a good choice?

You have the analog ignition module (1985-'89) which seems to have issues with longevity if you switch to COP's without adding a resistor to each, to present the same load to the ignition as does the OEM traditional primary coil set of four. This is anecdotal evidence that it happens at-all. I am not an electrical engineer nor a whiz with electrical systems. I follow whatever procedure is described in the factory manual to diagnose things like ignition systems. As most of us know, the Gen. 1 was never offered with COP's.

CaptainKyle has a video on youtube I believe, about the question of VMax coils being cracked, and if that affects the function of individual coils. If you use the search function and his screen name, you should be able to get one mechanic's experience with the OEM coils. To cut to the chase, he believes very few OEM VMax coils with exterior cracks actually have those cracks detrimentally affect their operation.

Well I bought the ignitech from morley muscle, carbs are rebuilt and it don't seem to idle right. I did synchronize carbs. I get it running fine then the next time I start it the idle needs adjusted again. so what if it rains and water gets on them coils with the crack?

So if I go COP I need the resistor COP's even with ignitech? Oh I did check for air leaks also. I am familiar with Kyle watched a few of his vids. It just seems like misses come and go.