Is my bike weak, or is it an issue of legend??

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MBreinin

Reaction score
Some of you know I am new to the V-Max world. I have had mine about three weeks. I know it is not perfectly tuned. It is definitely rich as it has stock exhaust on it now and it was wearing a Kerker before (I wish the former owner had kept the damn exhaust, but I digress). I do not think it was re-jetted when the stock pipes were put on. I am putting on some Super-Trapps tomorrow, but I don't expect any leaning out or performance gain...just noise.

I removed the Y in an effort to get more noise from the carbs and hoping some more air as well.

Now, I think the bike is quick, but it does not pull any of the stunts that V-Maxes seem so popular for.

For example, I can go WFO in first gear from a slow roll and I have no traction issues or unintended wheelies, it just hooks and books. I would have to purposely make the bike break traction, and I have never done that.

I certainly don't have any traction issues in THIRD like some of the period road tests claimed!

I really wish I knew someone else with a known good running Max so I could compare.

I wonder if this is a carb tuning issue?

Oh, also...how do you adjust the idle? Mine is pounding out at a solid 1500 rpm when it is warmed up.

Just curious!

Thanks,

Mike

Some of you know I am new to the V-Max world. I have had mine about three weeks. I know it is not perfectly tuned. It is definitely rich as it has stock exhaust on it now and it was wearing a Kerker before (I wish the former owner had kept the damn exhaust, but I digress). I do not think it was re-jetted when the stock pipes were put on. I am putting on some Super-Trapps tomorrow, but I don't expect any leaning out or performance gain...just noise.

I removed the Y in an effort to get more noise from the carbs and hoping some more air as well.