Very very low MPG!

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Omran

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I've been enjoying my Vmax for the past 5 months until the gearbox broke down and I had to park it for a while until I got it fixed.

Now my problem is, and this has been going on since I bought it, it runs a very low mile per gallon, and by low I mean from full tank to fuel light coming up in less than 50 miles.

From what I read online it should have a good 150 miles per full tank. First I tried playing around with the carbs, didn't get me anywhere. Changed the spark plugs, cleaned the carb, air filter, checked for leakage in the fuel tank, and still nothing has proved to be the source of the problem.

Iunno if it might be the needles are stuck or if I need to take apart the carbs and see where that leads me, but I figured I'd post to the forum before taking any other steps.

So what do you guys think could be the problem?

I'm also thinking of removing the filters from the exhaust for a louder noise and better speed, if so do I need to jet it afterwards?

Oh, and one last thing, the little switch that sits beneath the clutch lever seems to be dead, so I removed it, found little metal parts inside that were scrambled all over the switch's insides. I'm trying to put it back together but I don't know how the mechanism works, so if anyone can post me a photo from the insides of the switch of an illustration of how it works I'd be very grateful!

Thanks and I hope I'm not asking too much questions :whistlin:

100 miles for sure and it seems to very after that... for sure a good carb cleaning there are lots of threads that show you how and what to do....dont cheap out and make sure you get yami parts not jobber ones to put back in there such as gaskets.
then a dry float setting along with wet and carb sync to set everything to a good base line.