20 mpg?? What you talkin bout Willis!

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TCHILDERS

Reaction score
I am brand new to the family as of yesterday. ('02) max with 6500 miles on it. hole shot pipes and stage one performance kit. The previous owner told me he gets around 20 mpg with it. From what I've read that has to be horse crap. He said it's running a little rich. I don't think however that it should be this low. Is he just on the throttle that much (is that possible). Or do I need to take it in and get it tuned on a bit. I wouldn't know how to start. The bike looks new and seems to run well. I'm just a bit apprehensive. Someone please give me some advice, opinion, etc.

Check the air filter first. What do the spark plugs look like? Is it Dale Walker's stage 1 kit? If need is too high mileage really suffers. Make sure carbs are sync'd too. Well tuned Vmax should get 36-44 mpg.

6500 miles is low for an '02, maybe it sat quite a bit. Try running some seafoam through it, that might help. Other than that, drive it for awhile, calc your own mileage figures before doing any changes. Might not turn out to be that bad. If it is that bad then you can go to the next step, there are a lot of real knowledgable guys on this site who will be willing to help you.

Best advice, make sure it's broke before you try to fix it. :biglaugh:

First I would check the oil. Meaning smell your oil, if it smells like gas than you better start thinking about resolving this issue quickly.
If your dumping raw fuel into engine and its not all being burnt its washing your cylinder walls clean leaving very little oil to prevent cyl wall scratches ='ing low compression
I dont care how hard you ride, I ride mine pretty much balls to the wall 85% of the time and I avg. 31-34 and I think my needles may be sitting a little to high causing a low-mid richness but it runs great so I dont fudge with it.