Basic Exhaust Question

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fzmax

Reaction score
Long story short, I’ve been riding for over 30 years and never had or wanted a loud bike. In fact I’ve never even had a bike with an aftermarket can, including the four Vmaxes I’ve owned. That said, I’ve been looking at systems for my 98. Before I dive into this I was wondering what kind of weight savings I could expect and with the correct jetting and a full system what kind of power increase can I hope to gain?

25-30 pounds lost and dyno numbers in the 120s seem to be normal.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

Or you can use Supertrapp slip-ons with 5 or 6 discs to lose that same 25-30 lbs., keep all the stock power with out having to rejet and only be a bit louder than the stock pipes.

This is a good video of a Vmax with Supertrapps with 7 discs:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2w_LpXVgsc8

They sound good without being too loud with 5-7 discs and closed caps.
With open caps they are a lot louder.

Well a stock Vax is 105-115 hp on average. With an aftermarket full exhaust.....120-125 hp is normal. It does have to be tuned.....you just can't slap it together.....but there are a lot of people on the forum that can help with that.

Sent from my SCH-R890 using Tapatalk

OK, thanks. If I can lose 20 pounds and gain a solid 10 HP that should be good for maybe three tenths in the quarter? Assuming I can make use of that weight loss and power gain. Sounds worth the expense and the added noise.

My major apprehension for the noise is I'd rather not attract attention, especially from LEO's, but those Superttraps make some nice music (thanks DMAN). I like Dale Walker's system from an aesthetic standpoint, but not sure how they stack up for performance, weight, cost or longevity.

I'll do some more research, but I'd sure appreciate any opinions, pictures or videos. Thanks