Cutting keys with missing red key

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Selva

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new to his forum. I recently purchased a 2010 Vmax. When I purchased the bike the owner only had a black key with the round cap. I would like to make a copy of the key incase I loose the only one I have. I recently learn through the owners manual that it is impossible to copy a key without the red key unless the entire immobilizer system is changed. Is there a work around for this, dealer quoted me $2,000 for a new immobilizer set.

So just for anyone else who runs into this issue. The key can be cloned. The blank key # used by the locksmith I went too is YAMA-26D.P2

If you live near Toronto in Canada Lockshop LTD in Whitby, Ontario does this.

Not sure but i've made keys before?
Weird. The owners manual states if you don't have the red key it will be impossible to copy keys. I guess the manual was written 10 years ago and new tech came out since to clone key .

I believe you are in Canada, correct me if I am wrong. Perhaps the Canadian models use some sort of transponder or chip the ECM has to read in order to start the bike as a security measure. I have a 2009 U.S. model that I purchased used with only the black key that has the knob on it. I was at a Honda dealer looking at bikes one day. The Honda parts guy asked about my Vmax sitting in the parking lot. He looked at my bike and I started it up so he could hear the exhaust. He mentioned about the strange looking key. I explained I wish I had another key. He said he could make one out of a Honda blank that he said looked similar. It took him two tries. The first did not work but the second did. Just a plan old key cut from a Honda blank. Been working for 9 years now. He charged me $18.00 because he said it took him two tries to make it. I thought that was cheep.