Dies at 5500 rpm

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ride314

Reaction score
Ok, here it goes. I have been rebuilding a 1986 Vmax which sat for approximately 8 years. I know the previous owner and have good knowledge of what has been done to the bike. I have redone almost everything at this point and have been working on it for over a year.

When the bike was originally parked, it had super trap exhaust and no jetting changes. It ran good. I have put stock Vmax exhaust on and rebuilt the carbs with Keyster Carb Kits (maybe a mistake!!!!). Drilled the end caps on the stock exhaust, installed a UNI air filter, and upped the main jets two sizes from stock. Compression on all cylinders is good.

The bike starts great and runs great till I hit 5500 rpm. At 5500 rpm it feels like the bike hit a rev limiter. If I can get it to about 7000 rpm, it takes off like a shot (with the vboost on or off). Most of the time I cannot get the bike to rev through the bad spot.

My vboost control unit is not working and is disabled.

I am out of ideas. I am thinking the Keyster Kits are crap and might be causing my problem but not sure.

Summer is approaching and I am ready to ride this thing. Any ideas would be appreciated.

Ok, here it goes. I have been rebuilding a 1986 Vmax which sat for approximately 8 years. I know the previous owner and have good knowledge of what has been done to the bike. I have redone almost everything at this point and have been working on it for over a year.

When the bike was originally parked, it had super trap exhaust and no jetting changes. It ran good. I have put stock Vmax exhaust on and rebuilt the carbs with Keyster Carb Kits (maybe a mistake!!!!). Drilled the end caps on the stock exhaust, installed a UNI air filter, and upped the main jets two sizes from stock. Compression on all cylinders is good.