Is Max dangerous

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mwilson410

Reaction score
Hey guys I am a newbie here. Have dreamed of owning a Vmax for 15 years and have finally got one. She is a 98 silver model with 20,000 miles and totally original. since joining the forum I have started to learn about the band handling characteristics of Max. This bike is a supposed to be a touring pleasure machine for my wifie and myself. We are both 48 and I think we have a few years left in us yet so I don't want to kill us prematurely on the bike. I have upgraded the rear shocks and plan to fit new fork springs. I am certainly not a speed freak so will the original brakes be up to the job and is the balloon trye on the rear wheel ok or should I go for a 17 inch wheel. I like the stock Vmax so I dont want to go overboard on mods. I would appreciate any other saftey upgrades you guys would reccomend!

Thanks Michael

Saftey mods...1 good full face helmet 1 complete leather riding suit with body armour. 1 set of good riding boots. 1 pair leather gloves. Excellent reflexis. The ability to predict.
Other than that,..all is good. If you ride the max normaly, you really shouldnt encounter any problems. The only time I got into trouble is when I put the hammer down hard. Do not twist the wick hard in the corners. This bike was made to go!......and GO it will!

The Max's biggest and most widely reported handling problem is a wobble that comes on at high speeds. Some as soon as 80 or 90, others get to 130 or more. It's usually caused by worn/poorly adjusted head bearings. Loose bearings can also cause instability when cornering....a wiggle after hitting bumps and such.