new max owner

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shorthair88

Reaction score
:eusa_dance:Hi all,
Life long goal of owning a 85 max achieved, Fantastic condition w/ 10k on it, well 12+ k on it now, I need new tires and want to go w/ 170 on back, preferably w/ out washer relocation mod, ( need ideas ) what effects does this have? i noticed tire height changes w/ 170 tires? any changes there? I already soldered famous crimp and incresed voltage by 9/10ths of a volt. talk to me.

Shorthair.......

I just put a 170/80 15 on my '86 no mod needed it fits just fine didn't even move washer.

The height is pretty much the same maybe a tiny bit taller. That's because it's a lower profile (80 vs 90 for OEM) but a bigger tire so it balances out.

For the best deal check out bikebandit.com - I got a pair of Shinko Tourmaster 230 tires delivered to my door for less than $150 (both!). I believe they also have the best prices on Metzeler ME880 which is another (more expensive) popular choice.