Vboost

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

atp51

Reaction score
Hey guys I got a question about the vboost. I just got a 89 vmax and there is a toggle switch on the left front side of the bike that the previous owner said changes the RPM vboost comes on at. I think it's a mod but not sure. I have no experience with vboost but I can't tell a difference no matter if the switch is up or down. Is the vboost a noticeable difference in power when it comes on? How do I tell if it is working? The solenoids are making a noise when the key is turned on so they should be working. I'm new to this so any help would be great thanks.

Normally T-Boost will change the V-Boost to kick in around 3,000rpm. You should feel a surge. Check under the left scoop, the after market controller should be located there.
Can you feel the V-Boost kick in at 6,000rpm?

Back in 88 and 89 I know Dale walker made a V-Boost override, it was like T-boost and other V-Boost mods except Dale's was either on or off.

Sounds like it's a T-boost switch. It will drop the servo operation from 6k to 3k RPM's. But if you're not feeling it, I have to question the servo's operation.

When you turn the key on, do you hear a "whirr-whirr".

Normally T-Boost will change the V-Boost to kick in around 3,000rpm. You should feel a surge. Check under the left scoop, the after market controller should be located there.
Can you feel the V-Boost kick in at 6,000rpm?

I can't feel the boost kick in is it easily noticeable? I'll look for the controller tomorrow maybe it will have a sticker that will tell me something more.
Thanks

Sounds like it's a T-boost switch. It will drop the servo operation from 6k to 3k RPM's. But if you're not feeling it, I have to question the servo's operation.

When you turn the key on, do you hear a "whirr-whirr".