Mesh Jacket

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

20Vmax20

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Wondering what everyone is using for summertime protection on the max? I currently have a Joe Rocket mesh jacket with the CE armor in the elbows and shoulders that I have been using for about 18 years. It is very breathable in hot weather and I wear it every time I ride, but I have lost weight and I need a smaller size jacket so I figured this would be a good time to try something different. Does anyone have a jacket that they love to use in the summer?

I have two:

Joe Rocket
Fieldsheer

When the mesh jacket was released, I think the Joe Rocket was among the first to sell it. I don't recall seeing anything like that before. I bought one (Joe Rocket) on the spot, from a friend who owned a So. FL motorcycle parts and accessories store. I still have it, and it still does its job, flowing air, while carrying armor to protect your usual parts.

Many years later, I bought a Fieldsheer mesh jacket, which has two layers. The outer one is mesh, w/pockets for more and better armor than my venerable, comfortable Joe Rocket mesh jacket. There is a nylon shell for inside the Fieldsheer, for windbreaker use if the weather turns less-temperate.

1721091281119.png

Of the two, my favorite is the old Joe Rocket, as it passes noticeably more air at-speed. Probably the Fieldsheer would be more-protection if in an accident.

I sometimes also carry a much-larger than my chest measurement nylon zipper jacket, just a shell, but it does two things well, besides being sized large-enough to fit over either of my mesh jackets, without restricting my freedom of movement.
  • One, it gives me an additional layer if the temperature drops, and it's waterproof