No Brake lights HELP

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shawnsbox

Reaction score
Hello all, I have been a member for a bit but this is my first time to really ask a question so thank you in advance.

I have a 2007 vmax that i just noticed on a night ride last night that the brake light is not working at all. hand brake nor foot brake. I replaced bulbs, also put a tester on the socket but not sure what I should be looking for. Both the running light bulbs work with no issue and have been replaced. Although the ones I took out did not apear to be bad. all other lights, horn, blinker, etc work fine. I tried to test right at the switchs on the foot and hand brake but again I really dont know what Im looking for it to do.

Any help would be so great! I did find another thread where this was discussed but there was no final outcome as of last year sometime. hope Im not duplicating this.

Thank you, Shawn

pop off the passenger seat and have a look at the signal wire. maybe it got cut, or its loose. if the hand and foot brakes aren't activating the light, then that would be my first place to look. how did you test the socket--put one lead on the socket and the other lead on the engine ground, and then pull or push the brake lever(s)?

Signal wire seems to be in good shape. as far as testing I place red lead on the switch and the other to the frame and pumped. Neither seemed to change anything. Could both my switches have gone out? what should happed if the switch is working properly? It should be a decresse in voltage right?

They are just contact switches and it would seem to me shocking for both of them to "go out" at the same time. Does your NEUTRAL light and HORN work? If so then there is something wrong with the yellow wire going from your brake switches to the socket, or the socket itself is messed up somehow.